What if I’m depressed?

 

IMG_2154.PNG

Well, I’m gonna get out of bed every morning… breathe in and out all day long. Then, after a while I won’t have to remind myself to get out of bed every morning and breathe in and out… and, then after a while, I won’t have to think about how I had it great and perfect for a while.”-Sam Baldwin ,Sleepless in Seattle

Loss/anxiety is one of those things that can  have a strong hold on your pattern of thought . It can either make you or break you. I have heard of stories of people losing grip of reality because of the intensity this void can bring to ones being. It’s the reality of it. Most people won’t understand how people can reach extremes during times of grief/loss/anxiety/illness etc but it’s very possible. Infact this persistent sadness can lead one into a depressive state .

Depression is a common mental disorder, characterized by persistent sadness and a loss of interest in activities that you normally enjoy, accompanied by an inability to carry out daily activities, for at least two weeks –World Health Organisation: Depression,Lets talk campaign

Depression is not uncommon :- about 300 million people are living with depression right and 800000 of those people become suicidal. Have you gone through this or do you know anyone who has/or is living with depression?

The thought of a tomorrow  can become a very debilitating thought ( I know I’ve been there). It can ultimately consume all the hope in you .
Please don’t let it.
Life is going to be different , things are going to change but worrying about how those things will turn out isn’t going to help.

Breathe .

Take a moment.

You don’t have to have everything figured out right now. You don’t have to have your emotions kept in check right now. It’s okay. There is no science to this life thing, I don’t have ten steps that will take your pain away . I cant promise rainbows and sunshine for the days to come, there will be bad days, but its okay. I’m just here to tell you to just take it one step at a time. You don’t have to get through the year just yet all you have to do right now is get through today. Just today . Don’t worry about what is not going to happen tomorrow put all that strength into getting through the day .

Breathe.
Get out of bed.
Eat.
Sleep.
Repeat.

The simple things will get you through the minutes, which will turn into hours and soon days. Time will go by and you will be surprised that you are doing okay. There is light at the end of the tunnel,it’s true. Although you may not see it, even when you feel like all hope is gone just know that you will get through this. Sure I don’t know you, I don’t know what you are going through but I don’t have to . I know that when I went through it , people would tell me I would be okay but I didn’t believe it. I couldn’t even imagine myself being okay but I am okay . It is going to be hard but draw strength from God and rest in him knowing he loves you, your family loves you and your friends do too. Take it day by day , nothing too complicated .Keep soldiering on ,it will be well .

 

Next post will the clinical and  unexpected symptoms …..

 

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Corinthians 12:9, ESV)

 

feel free  to leave a comment or drop an email if you need someone to listen 🙂

Leave a Reply

